Day 5: Romanced by France

The beauty of the French country side puts a spell on you. Several times since arriving here I have had to remind myself that I am not dreaming. This is real.

My inner child is coming to life here in Normandy. The little country girl who has been forced to hide. The girl who loves animals and small towns. Who loves to sit in the peace and quiet looking at the crops growing in the never ending fields. The child who could pick up all kinds of animal dung and crack walnuts for the rest if her life and never be bored. I am falling in love with the rolling hills covered in trees that remind me of my home in Arkansas. I am falling in love with the snaking river and cows that remind me of my home in Idaho. These things remind me of home yet I do not miss them. The beauty of the French country side puts a spell on you. Several times since arriving here I have had to remind myself that I am not dreaming. This is real.

Saturday morning Becca and I awoke in time for a late brunch. We had French bread (of course), jam (I have no idea what kind of fruit it was made out of), butter, honey butter, cheese, Charcuterie (a kind of pig meat that taste a little like baloney), and tea which we drank out of a bowl. This will be the same breakfast that we will eat our entire visit in Normandy, and no I don’t think I could ever be sick of it. We showered (a hot shower!) and prepared for the day. We then got a tour of the property, hung our wet laundry on a clothes line, helped feed the animals, and ate a raw egg (it was surprisingly delicious). Next Becca and I strolled through the little town. Most of the houses are also homes to many kinds of animals. They have a small church and graveyard and a horse riding club. Half the town is surrounded by the forest (pronounced fore in French) the other by wheat fields.

Madame Pion took us to a small town right next to Ste. Croix sur Aizier. This town was called Vieux Port which means old harbor in English. The houses here were made out of mud and straw and had thatched roofs. We met a man from Buffalo, New York who now lives there.

I must say the older people of this town know how to party.

That night we went to a feast held in the town. At the beginning of every summer the town holds a feast to celebrate. We met many of the town’s people, one of than being a girl nearly 18 years old. She paid very good attention in her language class for her English was decent. One of her friends, a 15 year old boy, did not pay attention but it was still fun to attempt having a conversation with him. We also met an English couple who we became very close with (well as close as you can get for only spending two nights with them). There was a hilarious family that we also met. The husband would not leave our sides. He liked speaking with stranger for he learned much from them. He would speak English and try to talk in an American accent. He told us that his dream was to drive a mustang on Route 66. The wife was a bubbly woman who loved to dance! They had an 11 year old girl who was super shy but once on the dance floor she was an animal. I think she fell in love with Becca. Every time Becca would dance the girl would try to copy her! Their son who was 5 years old thought we were both beautiful and kept trying to talk to us. He was the sweetest thing and danced like nobody’s business. We talked to many different people and ate tons of food! After dinner we dance and dance. I must say the older people of this town know how to party. They were going crazy on the dance floor and singing along to the songs. Music in English is very popular here so there were plenty of songs we knew. We were the last ones to leave the feast. We stayed and talked to our new friends and after they left we talked with the two DJs as they packed up to leave. We then walked home and went right to bed for we discovered it was 4 in the morning.

day-5-1

day-5-2day-5-3day-5-4

day-5-5
Church and graveyard.

day-5-6day-5-7

day-5-8
A house in Vieux Port.
day-5-9
Looking our best for the feast.

day-5-10

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

