Day 1: Rendezvous and Wandering

I just received internet for the first time since arriving in Brussels.

My 8 hour plane flight from Chicago to Brussels went much better than expected. I sat next to a chirpy Austrian woman who has been living in Chicago for the last 10 years as an artist. She travels abroad at least twice a year and had many interesting stories to tell. I also sat by a man named Mark. Mark lives in Chicago and works with varies brands of car parts. He travels abroad at least twice a year also. Mark is a talker and we talked about many different things. But the subject we focused on most was Christ. Mark was happy to hear that I am a professing believer and it warmed my heart and calmed my nerves to listen to his wise words. That was the exciting part of my flight. The not so exciting part was that I didn’t get a wink of sleep the whole flight! I met up with Becca at the airport in Brussels and from there we started our journey.

By the end of the day we were sure that we were truly in another country.

Leaving the airport was kind of stressful. We couldn’t find the bus ticket station and couldn’t understand anyone. We honestly had no idea what we were supposed to do. Finally a nice French girl helped us with our bus tickets. Once we got in the city of Brussels we looked for wifi which obviously we didn’t find. Then started looking for a train station. We got to the train station (only by our great navigation skills!) and bought tickets for an overnight bus to London. We spent the rest of the day walking around Brussels! At first, it doesn’t feel like you’re in a different country except for not being able to understand anyone or read any signs. But by the end of the day we were sure that we were truly in another country.

The cars here are a lot smaller and if you want to cross the road you can just waltz right out and everyone will stop for you. The buildings were so old!! It is very rustic and so beautiful! We found a park and watched some people skateboarding, and then walked around some more. Then came game time! We found a small cafe/bar that had a TV and chairs set outside on the sidewalk. It was Belgium playing Algeria and so many people from Brussels were going crazy supporting their countries team!! During the game I met a very nice man and we talked even though I couldn’t understand him and he couldn’t understand me. After the game a bunch of people were trying to figure out where we were from. They kept guessing we were Dutch or French (which technically are both true). I honestly didn’t want to tell any of them I was American (no offense guys) but when I did they wished me luck and told me to enjoy their country!

First a plane. Now a bus. Yes life is good.

Brussels you were amazing, even with your cigarette smoke on every corner and your costly bathrooms (yes you have to pay to use the restroom! Pay! Like with real money!) thanks for being so good to us! Catch ya in a couple weeks!

Now, so I will not be running on less than an hour of sleep in 24 hours I will try to rest on this bus. First a plane. Now a bus. Yes life is good.

day-1-2day-1-3day-1-4day-1-5day-1-6

 

Leave a Reply

